Chi-Com Wuhan Corona Virus Crisis Finland

Finland reopens borders with 28 countries but not with Sweden…….


Sweden is still a major hazard…

Finland reopens borders with 28 countries

The list includes 17 European and 11 non-European countries.


Finland will open its borders with 17 European countries on Monday, as well as relaxing travel restrictions with 11 non-European countries.


As of Monday 13 July, it will be possible to travel between Finland and 12 Schengen area countries: Austria, Belgium, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Malta, the Netherlands, Slovakia, Slovenia and Switzerland.


In addition, travel restrictions will be lifted between Finland and the non-Schengen area countries of Andorra, Cyprus, Republic of Ireland, San Marino and the Vatican.


Travel between Finland and Norway, Denmark, Iceland, Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania has been permitted since restrictions were lifted on 15 June.



Swedish border remains closed

Finland’s border with Sweden will remain closed, despite much discussion on the subject, as the coronavirus infection rate remains significantly higher than the Finnish government’s threshold of eight confirmed cases per 100,000 head of population over a two week period.


“I think many people understand when the situation in Sweden is what it is,” Finnish Border Guard First Lieutenant Jari Rantala told Yle from the border crossing point between Tornio and Haparanda.


According to Rantala, during the spring an average of fifty people per day were prevented from crossing into Finland from Sweden because they did not have a sufficient reason for making the trip.


From Monday, family ties and the arrangement of large assets, such as property transactions, will also be accepted as necessary reasons for crossing the border.


More here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.